Home > Uncategorized > Women’s MMA Champ Taylor Stratford

Women’s MMA Champ Taylor Stratford

On the verge of her last amateur fight, top ranked fighter Taylor Stratford took the time out of her busy schedule to chat with us for a bit. Make sure you catch her in action this Friday the 10th at Grand Sierra Resort in Reno. If you can’t make it out, you can order the fights at http://gofightlive.tv

Nor-Cal MMA: When people think of cage fighting, most expect gruesome brutality. You are definitely the opposite. What made you get into MMA?

Taylor Stratford: It was mostly a personal decision. My dad and uncle encouraged me but it was really to prove something to myself. I’m so happy with this; it’s my life & my heart.

Nor-Cal MMA: You’ve made quite a name for yourself being at the top of the list for amateur female fighters. Did you ever dream of this type of success when you first started fighting?
TS: No not at all. Everything has come kind of fast. My first fight was only two months after I started training and from there on I was very consistent with fights and eventually got noticed more & then became amateur fighter of the year 2010 and then won two titles 8 days apart from each other. I’ve only dreamed of this kind of stuff ever happening to me and I am so unbelievably grateful for everything.

Nor-Cal MMA: What was it that you really dreamed of being growing up?
TS: I wanted to be an athlete for sure. I ran track for nearly 12 years so I expected to do that forever but it was just not for me. I just knew that I had to do something athletic because that’s the kind of person I’ve always been.

Nor-Cal MMA:Your last amateur fight is this weekend and all of us are excited to see you go out with a bang. What’s your next step after this fight?
TS: After this fight I am going into the pros. Win or lose. This is my life, I don’t have really anything other than this.

Nor-Cal MMA: Women’s MMA is beginning to flourish. Who is one pro fighter that you would enjoy getting in the cage with?
TS: I don’t like to pick and choose rather I like to be told who I am fighting and start training for them, but I would love to be put against anyone who can challenge me mentally and physically.

Nor-Cal MMA: Aside from MMA, what do you hope to accomplish in your life?
TS: I just want to be the best me I can be. I want to help others not be afraid of things like bullying and help people understand that women can do this too. I want to make a difference in this sport and in life.

Nor-Cal MMA: Can we look forward to seeing an “Anthony Pettis-like” kick anytime soon from you?
TS:
You never know! I have something fun planned for every fight but it all depends on how the fight is going for me to be able to accomplish it, I promise you won’t see a boring fight though that’s for sure!

Nor-Cal MMA: Anyone that you want to thank for helping you get to where you are?
TS: My family at the Reno Academy of Combat, my awesome trainers Rick Collup and Nick Barbarigos, anyone and everyone who supports me & even the people who don’t. I wouldn’t be where I am without every single one of you, so thank you very much & much love. Thank you for this interview!!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 12, 2016 at 7:02 am

    You can make a few of the easiest wardrobe gadgets look good
    if they’re clear, decently fitted, and paired with a great leather-based jacket.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

